Gallery

Announcing the Engagement

We were in Canada when we got engaged. We were itching to start telling close friends and family but calling on our cell phone from Canada to the US is expensive.

I did make a few key calls and am nervous about how much that is going to cost me on my cell phone bill next month but we waited to tell most people.

When we got back I spent the next few days calling friends and family but quickly realized that all of the questions I was getting were a bit overwhelming. I kind of ran out of steam calling people. I started slowly, strategically releasing the news to key people at work so I wasn’t bombarded with questions all at once.

Don’t get me wrong, I am appreciative of how excited people are for me and the support I have been offered already but it IS a lot to take in over just a few days. It’s also hard to answer all of the questions thrown my way when there is so much that I still don’t know. I need a plan remember, and I don’t have one yet.

Like I said, I didn’t have the time and energy to call EVERYONE so some people got an email. I realize that might have offended some people but I had to do what I had to do for me and at least I gave them a heads up before they saw it on Facebook (news started to leak before we even posted it ourselves).

The only person I told that wasn’t totally surprised was my Dad. Shawn had called him before he proposed to get his blessing (which I respect immensely). Sure, he acted really surprised but I told him he could cut out the act since I KNEW Shawn had already told him J My dad said he was still a little surprised because he didn’t know if I would say yes  though J

Anyway, there are still people I haven’t called, emailed or aren’t my friends on Facebook. I think I will just tell the other people as I see them and it comes up. The scramble of telling people is over I think.

I know what matters is who and how I want to tell people but I am wondering what other people have done. Did you call everyone you knew? Did you send out an actual engagement announcement in the mail? How does one typically handle these things?

Leave a Reply

