Gallery

An Extreme Lesson in Patience

I am not a good waiter. If I want something bad enough I usually just go get it or make it happen. Well, not this time!

We finally ordered the engagement ring about a week and a half ago…..or two weeks ago…..I am purposely trying not to keep track. While I may look calm on the outside, I am jumping up and down making an “Eeeeeeeee” sound inside. Words don’t describe how excited I am to get my ring.

My plan for getting through this was to put it out of my head and try to pretend there is no ring coming. In theory, I would lose track of time, my busy-ness would blend into weeks and before I know it the ring would be here. Well, it’s not working so good. I think this is going to be the longest three months of my life!

I have been this excited once before that I can remember. In college, when I decided to by myself a 4-runner, take a quarter of college and go on a 4,000 mile, cross-county road trip by myself I couldn’t sleep for months. Every time I would try to go to sleep my head would spin with anticipation and plans. I was itching to go NOW and waiting was an extreme lesson in patience.

I haven’t been sleeping well lately and maybe this is my problem – I think I have put it out of my head but my mind can’t subconsciously stop thinking about the ring. It’s either that or the damn dogs keep insisting that eating and potty time is 4 am. Sheesh! I mean, really? Anyway, my anticipation of the ring may have something to do with it.

I am almost thinking worst-case scenario here too.  Honestly, Ben Bridge told me it would take 8 – 10 weeks to arrive and then another two or three days to get the stones mounted. Really, 12 weeks is the long end of what it might take but I don’t want t get my hopes up that it will come at the earlier end. Also, I have read some reviews of Ben Bridge that reported that it “took too long” or longer than expected from some customer’s rings to arrive. All I have to say is that it better come within 12 weeks or I will be camping outside their door until they get it to me…..and those of you who know me well know I have NO ISSUES with camping.

So here I am trying to ignore the clock but I can’t seem to stop the incessant tick, tick, ticking in my head. Maybe I should take up Buddhism and meditation 🙂

Leave a Reply

