Gallery

Ring on My Finger

Some of you may know because you saw my Facebook post, or because you heard through the grapevine, but I finally have my official engagement ring.

I was expecting to have it sometime between the mid to end of September. The last week in August we got a call that it was in. I ran up and dropped off the stones (the Alexandrite from my Mom’s ring and the two diamonds from my Grandma) at the jeweler before my brother and I headed off for our overnight backpacking trip. 

The following week was mine and Shawn’s vacation and we were planning mini bike tour of the north Oregon coast and I was hoping the ring would be done by then so Shawn could officially give it to me while we were on our trip.

Shawn sent me a text when my brother and I were coming back from backpacking and said the jeweler called and said they needed the ring for an extra day – which meant we would have to pick the ring up when we got back. I suspected Shawn was fibbing but I didn’t want to get my hopes up so I went along with it and tried to put it out of my mind.

I got more suspicious when we were in Astoria. We were out to eat and he jumped up and asked for the keys to the car. The outside deck we were sitting on was a little chilly so I asked if he was going back to the car to get his coat. He said “yes” and hurried off.

When he came back he didn’t have a jacket. When I asked him about it he said he went back to the car to make sure that we had the locks on the bike. Seemed kind of funny to me especially since one pocket looked a little fuller than the other but I still went with it.

I did honestly forget about it after that. After our ride to Seaside we went out to eat. I was babbling away about something and he whipped the box out of his pocket and put the ring on my finger.

I didn’t really have expectations of what it would look like. I had only ever seen the ring with a clear diamond in it so I had a hard time imagining what it would look like with a colored stone. I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful it turned out.

The Alexandrite stone in the middle is translucent and pale but the color varies from pink to blue to purple depending on what kind of light you are in. Sometimes it is even a pale green-blue. It’s so cool.

Here are some photos:

Purple

More blue

 More pink

3 responses to “Ring on My Finger

  1. Pingback: Dog-Friendly Seaside, Oregon | youdidwhatwithyourweiner

Leave a Reply

